Snapchat can be described as a social messaging app. It is available for both the iOS and Android operating systems. The app allows users to send photographs, messages, and videos that are automatically deleted shortly after the recipient has viewed the content. The purpose is to avoid having the sender’s multimedia content saved and later used against them.
For instance, if you wanted to send sexually provocative content to someone else but you’re afraid of having it circulate on the internet, then Snapchat would be the best option for sending it. That way, it won’t stay on the user’s mobile device for very long. Snapchat is what you would call an unofficial sexting app. Even though it wasn’t created for the purpose of sending sexual content, it has been used for that purpose by many of its users.
Snapchat was created in September 2011. Three students and friends from Stanford University collaborated on this app. Their names are Reggie Brown, Evan Spiegel, and Bobby Murphy. Each one of them brought something unique to the table. Murphy was the programmer and coder, Brown came up with the concept of “disappearing media content” and Spiegel was the businessperson. Seven years after their collaboration on this idea, Snapchat would go on to become worth $20 billion+.
How Does It Work
Content is created by either typing a text message or recording content with your phone’s camera. Each time you send content to someone, it is called a “Snap.” The recipient of the Snaps can usually view them for up to 10 seconds. You can determine how long you want the content to be viewable to the recipient. After that, the Snaps are automatically removed from their mobile device. If they want to view the content again, they must pay through the in-app purchase feature. The app will tell you if your sent messages were opened or not.
In recent years, Snapchat has updated the Snapping feature to expand the time length to 60 seconds. This is what’s called a Multi-Snap. When you want to record a video for Snapchat, you simply touch the Record button and keep your finger on it as you’re recording. You can capture video for up to 60 seconds by doing this. Once you’re finished, the app will divide the video into multiple segments that are 10 seconds each. You can edit each segment if you choose. But when you send the video to the recipient, they will see the entire 60-second playback.
Snapchat has a unique feature called Geofilters. This feature will basically add a custom overlay to your content when the recipient goes to a specific location at a certain time. For example, if you are having a wedding or birthday party, you might use geofilters to help promote the event amongst your guests.
There is a feature called “My Story” which lets users gather all their snaps and place them together into an original storyline. Only their friends on Snapchat will be able to see this storyline. There can be both video snaps and photo snaps included in it. This is useful for people who might want to publish their romantic stories or trips that they took somewhere exciting.
Basic use of the Snapchat app is free. However, you need to pay for many of its extra features if you choose to use them. For instance, if you want to replay up to 3 messages that were sent to you, it will cost you about $1. If you want to purchase a geofilter, the price will be anywhere between $5 and $20 daily.
Snapchat might have a reputation for users sending sexual content, but it can be used for an entirely different purpose. In fact, many companies and businesspeople use Snapchat to encourage consumer interaction and engagement with their brand. The app creates a more personalized relationship between a company and their target audience.
You don’t need to be a technical wizard to learn how to use Snapchat. The setup process is quite simple, and you will be able to create a new account in minutes. There are three ways to add new friends to your Snapchat account. The easiest ways are to import them from your Facebook profile or from the address book on your smartphone. If you know the usernames of your friends on Snapchat, you can add them manually by entering those names in.
There are lots of alternative ways in which recipients can capture and save content. There is no full proof way of avoiding that as a sender. For starters, Snapchat has in-app purchases where you can actually purchase a replay of the content that was removed. This means the content does not truly get deleted from the mobile device after a brief amount of time. Plus, there are many third-party programs which allow recipients to save Snapchat content without even paying for it.
Therefore, if you are planning to send sexually explicit content of yourself to other people using Snapchat, do not assume that your content will be deleted. It could just as easily end up getting saved on the internet and then used against you in the future. Since Snapchat is popular amongst teenagers, it can be devastating if their content comes back to haunt them in adulthood. Caution should always be taken when using Snapchat to avoid this from happening.